⏎ Back to Destination Capitol Hill


Honoring Outstanding Leadership in Congress

The Travel Champion Award is an annual honor presented to four Members of Congress (one Democrat and one Republican, from both the U.S. Senate and the U.S. House of Representatives, respectively) and an Executive Branch official for exhibiting outstanding leadership to enact policies that spur increased travel to and within the United States.

Awardees must demonstrate a track record of advancing a policy agenda that promotes travel's ability to create jobs and stimulate economic growth, as well as serve as a public spokesperson to further educate policymakers and government officials alike to raise the profile of travel nationally and in local communities.

It is with great appreciation that U.S. Travel announces the recipients of the 2022 Travel Champion Award:

  • Sen. Roy Blunt (R-Missouri), Distinguished Leadership Award
  • Sen. Amy Klobuchar (D-Minnesota)
  • Rep. Darin LaHood (R-Illinois)

Past Honorees


  • Sen. Catherine Cortez Masto (D-Nevada)
  • Rep. Peter DeFazio (D-Oregon)
  • Sen. Rob Portman (R-Ohio)
  • Rep. Tom Rice (R-South Carolina)
  • Manisha Singh, Acting Under Secretary of State for Economic Growth, Energy, and the Environment


  • Sen. Susan Collins (R-Maine)
  • Sen. Mazie Hirono (D-Hawai'i)
  • Rep. Jared Huffman (D-California)
  • Rep. David Kustoff (R-Tennessee)


  • Sen. Cory Gardner (R-Colorado)
  • Sen. Bill Nelson (D-Florida)
  • Rep. Thomas Massie (R-Kentucky)
  • Rep. Judy Chu (D-California)


  • Sen. Dean Heller (R-Nevada)
  • Sen. Brian Schatz (D-Hawai’i)
  • Rep. David Jolly (R-Florida)
  • Rep. Dina Titus (D-Nevada)


  • Commerce Secretary Penny Pritzker
  • Sen. John Thune (R-South Dakota)
  • Sen. Amy Klobuchar (R-Minnesota)
  • Rep. Gus Bilirakis (R-Florida)
  • Rep. Mike Quigley (D-Illinois)


  • Sen. Mark Begich (D-Alaska)
  • Sen. Roy Blunt (R-Missouri)
  • Rep. Sam Farr (D-California)
  • Rep. Joe Heck (R-Nevada)